Topic Actions

Topic Search

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests

Help w/ Characters & Back Story?

Set in the Starfire strategy game universe, co-authored by David and Steve White, these novels feature the clash of the Terran Federation, the cat-like Orions, the genocidal Rigelians, and the "Bugs"...join us in the discussion!
Help w/ Characters & Back Story?
Post by sylance   » Sun Jun 03, 2018 9:52 pm

sylance
Midshipman

Hopefully this forum is active enough for someone to help me. I'm new to the series and listening to it on Audible. Normally when starting a new series there's the usual time to acclimate to the world and characters but I can't seem to find my footing with Starfire? There are so many non-English standard names that I'm having a hard time keeping the story straight in my head.

My ask... can someone list out the main characters, their race, and a short bio? Also, what's the world summary without spoilers? I want to finish the series but I'm 6-hours in and still don't understand the story. Thanks!
Re: Help w/ Characters & Back Story?
Post by Louis R   » Mon Jun 04, 2018 7:39 pm

Louis R
Rear Admiral

hmmmm...

This _is_ a David Weber production, and Himself doesn't really do main characters. He may have _title_ characters, but despite people trying to shoehorn the books into a standard mold you can't dismiss any viewpoint character as unimportant even if they die in the first chapter. In fact, it's the death of Khardanish'zarthan in the first chapter of Crusade that brings one of the most important characters in the books onto the stage - but you'll only see his name once more after that chapter.