Topic Actions

Topic Search

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 31 guests

What speaks to you?

This fascinating series is a combination of historical seafaring, swashbuckling adventure, and high technological science-fiction. Join us in a discussion!
What speaks to you?
Post by C. O. Thompson   » Mon Oct 31, 2016 11:38 am

C. O. Thompson
Captain of the List

I just reread the scene in Camp Chairio where Stephyny asked Father Kuhnymychu for food for her father, on my Kindle, and I noticed that 63 people had highlighted the first half of the reference from the Book of Bedard that begins "Do not despise the wisdom of childhood...". The thing that caught attention is that I had highlighted the last half of those instructions about how a child's questions require answer; when I read the book the last time and no one else highlighted the same passage.

When I was younger, I studied the Bible extensively for about 20 years and I used a colored highlighter to mark out the verses that spoke to me... often the next time I studied that same Book, I would find that other verses spoke to me and I would highlight them with a different color.
Eventually, I began to suspect that the dearth of agreement among denominations arose from this kind of focus and how one group believe one thing (Romans 14) but the weak condemn the one whose faith is strong.

I pick up a lot of morality questions in Davids writing and, in fact, this is one of the things I enjoy most.

I believe that this series points to the fact that in the battle between good and evil, most of us are in the middle but, that most of us either think that the responsibility to take action is above our pay grade.